Reflections-roll call!

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Ahh moments, Books, Dawah, Islamic Studies:My Kids, Journey to patience, Manners, Parents, Quran, Ramadan 2011

Bismillah,

Alhamdulilah, alhamdulilah! My Lord is so good to us, He gives, He gives, and blesses us in so many ways its unbelievable!

I’ve been swamped- a good type of swamp, wherein I truly believe its Allah subhana wa tala answering my dua list from Ramadan. I’m attached to my dua list in Ramadan and throughout out the year and all of these things that Allah blessed me with is a result of Him choosing to bestow His mercy upon me! Ujeeboo dawati itha daan! Truly Allah did say, “call upon me and I will answer”. So thats the best part of the last couple months, busy, good type of busy, but not enough time to blog. So here are things that have been on my mind!

* If you leave the Quran, the Quran leaves you! Yes, it does. This is something really scary. I’m really big on memorization, beyond tafsir, tajweed, memorization gives me my Quran-eman fix. I don’t know how to describe, but truly combining all three is wonderful works for me! My heart rejoices. So a reminder to all of you out there, don’t let a day go by without reciting, reflecting, and looking in the book of Allah for directions, its a must. Because as time goes by your brain sort begins to rust, almost like cob-webs begins to set in, and in place of a reflective mind, and an eman filled heart, therein begins a deadness that is scary. This reminds me of the saying of the scholars “as the one who doesn’t have quran in their life, is like a ruined house”; how sad that is!

* I was a camp councelor for MYNA again, I love it! Its amazing, and life changing. Camp isn’t really different from what I do with the youth in my community (at least my role), but the activities/lectures I take part in are a bit different. The best way to be better Muslim is to really help others be better Muslims. I have a hadeeth on my wall that I try to live by everyday. “khayro naas man yanfa3o naas” “The best people are those who are of benefit to others” Not to say I’m the perfect Muslim, but helping out the youth, helping them reflect on the deen, and helping them to remember Allah in one way or another really makes my day.

* Teaching in the morning and working at the library really helps me reflect on all sorts of stuff! I’m currently reading “The Help” by Kathyryn Stockett, and I’ve had two things come to mind (Power of the prayer, shunning/mean girls). I was really moved by Aibileen (a black maid in 1962) desire to be close to God and her need/turning to God for everything in the book. Aibileen, though a christian reminded me of my connection with prayer/dua in Islam! This woman writes her own prayers, and this is something I totally relate to. I listened to a lecture once where the shaykh mentioned how we should make our duas personal/specific to Allah, so that we show Allah how weak we are, and of how much we are in need of Him, and our desire to have what we are asking for. I know its odd to think about this, but think about all the duas we’ve been making through out the years, (good health, good deen, etc.), do we ever change it up? Are we better people because of these duas? Have we changed because of them? I say be precise, get to the nity gritty details of what/and how we want something from Allah! This is something I found that worked for me! One of my favourite lines from the book that Aibleen says is ” Cause that’s the way prayer do. It’s like electricity, it keeps things going” Subhana’Allah, how true that is! Second part of this reflection is that of mean girls! Has anyone seen the movie ‘mean girls?” I have never but the gist of it is a bunch of mean girls causing havoc, and subhana’Allah one of the things my camp adviser said was how at times girls can beeeeee soooo viscous/so mean to each other, meaner than boys. Sometimes I see bits and peices of that in my first graders! Subhana’Allah! But anyway, in the story, Skeeter one of the main characters gets shunned by her ‘friends’ when she decides to try to change things up, and stand up for what is right; i.e equality/rights for humanity! Its a sad case though when Hilly, the head ‘mean girl’ shakes things up and turns everyone else against her. Its sad, and the author describes this when Skeeter is told by Aibileen of her being shunned ” I don’t care about any of that ole stuff, anyway. She kind a laugh and it hurts my heart. Cause everybody care. Black, white down we all do.” Its sad stuff, and personally I’ve been at the end of such situations before while I was young as well as an adult (Yeah, if your outspoken at times like me, you are bound to face some difficulty in this area), but subhana’Allah it really takes a strong will, a determination to stay firm in what you fully believe in, and a lot of dua! Its a road of self discovery as well and it really shows you what you are capable of as a person. I try to teach my first grade girls that things like this shouldn’t happen, and that they should be better people and shouldn’t treat each other this way! I really enjoyed this book overall! It reminds me of the Civil rights era, I always enjoyed learning about that era. I feel like its a part of my history as an immigrant to this country. It reminds me back in 6/7th grade when I read “The Watson go to Birmingham…” one of my favourite books, or the “To kill a mockingbird”… man these are really good books to teach in the classroom, I can’t wait to work with my middle Schoolers!

* When my Ipod battery dies in my car and I can’t listen to my Quran, I’m left to NPR lol. I like NPR, but I don’t like listening too much news, because it makes me sad. I listen to it to the point of just being ‘aware’, and cut it off when it passing towards the point of ‘too sad’. So this past week, while driving home from work, there were some recurring news… 4 nights in a row at least. Syrian issues, Pope having a meeting from members of the church from all of over the world for victims of paedophiles in the church… thats a mouth full, and It really made me sad. This is a case of religion/folks practising that religion gone really really wrong! I respect people of faith, but at times its really hard to listen to stuff like that and have an objective mind. Politics/ the run for office/Romney. All sorts of other stuff, Politics is interesting but I’m always sceptical of things that goes down in Politics.

Alhamdulilah, really busy days, but insha’Allah insha’Allah it is all things that Allah is pleased with. I pray that Allah alleviates our difficulties, and may these difficulties be a cause for us to grow closer to our Lord, the Mighty and Majestic!

Till next time, may we meet in the highest abode! Al Firdous Ala!

Leave a Reply

