The alchemist, Paulo Coelho

Posted: September 12, 2011 in Ahh moments, Books, Paulo Coelho

Bismillah,

Alhamdulilah, all praise is due to Allah subhana wa tala who has blessed us all in one way or another.

Book review time! insha’Allah I will comment on the parts of the book that moved me. This book was such an amazing book in that it reflected Islam and its teachings so much that I had to wikipedia the author to see if he was muslim. It was profound and deep…I found myself thinking about each point and wondering how it tied to my own life. So glad I took notes, alhamdulilah.

*Personal Legend : “Its what you have always wanted to accomplish. Everyone, when they are young knows what their personal legend is”

*’At that point in their lives, everything is clear and everything is possible. They are not afraid to dream, and to yearn for everything they would like to see happen to them in their lives. But, as time passes, a mysterious force begins to convince them that it will be impossible for them to realize their personal legend”

The above mentioned comments about Personal legends are awesome…this is the amazing dreams we have when we are young, and we believe we can be anything we want to be or do anything we want to. And I think this mysterious thing is what we may refer to as “real life issues”…stuff like money, our own fears, other people telling us its not possible etc.

*It was the language of enthusiasm, of things accomplished with love and purpose, as as part of a search for something believed in and desired”

“But he was able to understand on thing: making a decision was only the beginning of thing. When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him to places he had never dreamed of when he first made the decision”

*The secret of happiness is to see all the marvels of the world, and never forget the drops of oil on the spoon”

*Started to cry, left the sheep, left the path ” My reflection on this: sometimes the path to achieving your dreams is filled with pain, regret, loneliness, sadness, so many what-if’s.

*”And maybe it wasn’t that they were teaching me, but that I was learning from them”

*”But that disaster taught me to understand the word of Allah: People need not fear the unknown if they are capable of achieving what they need and want” My reflection on this: This comment and others about Allah’s wants for his creation really had me thinking subhana’Allah, this is on point, and had me hurrying to see if the author was muslim.

* We are afraid of losing what we have, whether its our life or our possessions and property. But this fear evaporates when we understand that our life stories and the history of the world were written by the same hand” Subhana’Allah, this was profound. I thought to myself how in the world can I be afriad of the future or about the present, making decisions now and then, when the creator of all I have and all I see around me will decree what is best for me. This comment in all brought me back to who is in charge of all my affairs, who is the owner of it all, Allah jalla jallahu!

*Because I don’t live in either my past or my future. I’m interested only the present. If you can concentrate always on the present, you’ll be a happy man” My reflections: This is one of those comments that deserving bolding! In alhuda we talked about the word Qawf in the Quran, its always about fear about the future. This is something keeps us always thinking and in an agitated position..thinking what-if this, and what-if that, and at the end of the day, non of this matter, life becomes so much easier when we focus on the present, live in the present, think and worry only about the present for indeed the future is in the hands of Allah, and the past is spilled milk…just happened, and one should just forget about it! Indeed, one should learn from the past, but nonetheless learn from it as it will help in making ones future better!

Though I finished the book, I will post up the rest of my points soon insha’Allah!

Till next time, may Allah grant us to seek to understand our ‘personal legend’ and may it be always connected with His remembrance, the most High!

Leave a Reply

