Continuing the race…

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Ahh moments, Quran, Ramadan 2011

Bismillah,

So recently I’ve been reviewing from bottom to up (started at juz amma), and always the short makki verses that are so powerful in meaning always put me in a different mood. In Ramadan and even now when I hear some verses I just want to shake my head and think ” wow, how could you”. Mostly, verses like ‘we didn’t use to pray’ or ‘encouraging the feeding of the poor’ (paraphrased), and there is something I always reflect from these verses, that at times we may also fall into these categories (not completely forsaking these duties), but not giving it our all. How many times have we in the past dashed through our salaah in hurry to attend to something, mindlessly, not letting the words sink in and not pondering over the glory of this gift; i.e salaah. How many times have we thought “me, me, me” and didn’t volunteer or give enough of our time to the needy. As a recent graduate I was given a powerful advice from a friend of mine “now rahma, don’t sit at home now…volunteer as much as you can” lol.

Continuing the race…

That is of fasting… Its pretty hard to pick up after Ramadan and do the activities that you kept doing. I know for me there is a bit of a lull but in my house (specifically my mom) the six days of shawaal are completed with much dua, fasting, and continuing of the great activities from Ramadan. Its tough to continue in the motion of things but most definitely the rewards are there for the taking, it is just who need to be selfish in pursuing in these wonderful deeds!

“Whoever fasts Ramadan and follows it with six days from Shawwal it is as if they fasted the entire year.” Reported in Muslim

Leave a Reply

