Quran memorization, Yaseen, Lectures

Posted: August 23, 2011 in AbdulNasir Jangda, Ahh moments, Dawah, Kamal el-Mekki, Ramadan 2011, Surah Yusuf

Bismillah,

Alhamdulilah, all praise is due to Allah who has allowed us to reach these last blessed days and nights of Ramadan.

Every Ramadan, I literally get addicted to a series of lectures by one or two specific Shaykhs. A couple Ramadan’s ago or maybe it was last Ramadan it was Kamel El Makki Lectures, now this Ramadan its been Shaykh AbdulNasir Jangda’s Tafseer of Surah Yaseen. Masha’Allah, this series is really really beautiful Masha’Allah.

So many gems picked up from lecture but here are a few…

1.) A reflection of some sort, I love love how he connects everything back to Seerah, the story of the Prophet sal allahu sallam. My heart rejoices in the connections made of the life of the Prophet sal allahu sallam i.e of the hardship he faced and how Allah subhana wa tala reminded him to be patient and continue to do the dawah. This particular surah was sent down as a consolation for the Prophet sal allahu sallam (just like many other surah’s such as surah Yusuf). The group of people mentioned and discussed in surah Yaseen are similar to the people of Mecca and the hardship he sallahu alayhi wa sallam faced while giving dawah to them. Its an amazing reminder to know that these verses of Quran were sent down as a consolation for the Prophet sal allahu sallam,i.e that when worry, harm, fatigue, concern, or anything touched him Allah sent him sal allahu sallam a reminder to keep moving, to not give up, and to know that Allah would aid him….and that is powerful, because in the same way we also are granted the same privilege from Allah every single time we open this blessed book. Subhana’allah. Subhana’Allah. I’am in awe of the magnitude of this privilege! My Lord is truly great to us!

2.) Ayah number (8), such a vivid description of what happened to these specific people who denied the message…This verse I’ve memorized years ago, but now every time I read it now I think about shackles and the restriction of it…in the literally sense, they are indeed restrict in this capacity in dunya means…may Allah grant us not to be shackled down by our own sins, our own short-comings, our own neglect in our faith.

36:8
Inna jaAAalna fee aAAnaqihim aghlalan fahiya ila alathqani fahum muqmahoona

Indeed, We have put shackles on their necks, and they are to their chins, so they are with heads [kept] aloft.

3.) Quran memorization. Word. I cannot describe in words how happy this makes me. Every Ramadan I am reminded of what I’ve memorized, what I know like the back of my hand, and what I need to still cover. The process in itself is a beautiful thing, and I loved the fact that Shaykh AbdulNasir encouraged his listeners on lecture series to memorize the verses he has done so far, for indeed I am reminded again of how beautiful it is when you connect the understanding with what you’ve memorized…its like internalizing the powerful words of Allah in a different/amazing way. This is exactly why I love Alhuda and my own Quran memorization modes!

I encourage everyone to start listening to the series during Ramadan or even after. I am on 17-18 right now, slow poke mode, but insha’Allah I should pick up more after my finals this week!

Till next time, may Allah make us the people Quran, the people Allah. May we be joined in Al Firdous ala!

Leave a Reply

