Stuff

Posted: July 20, 2008 in Uncategorized

Bismillah,

N and I decided to visit my brother’s house. Y was sick, and we decided to stop by at Walmart and pickup medicine, some food and random things. Alhamdulilah.

While in the store in the bakery section a girl came up to me and asked for money. She was in her late teens, spoke broken English, and had a card that mentioned that her family didn’t have enough. She asked for me to give her something, and I felt really bad and gave her some cash on me. As I looked around I found her mother a bit far away, and as soon as I gave her the money I walked away. Once I walked away, I thought about ways to help her and her mother from the things that she told me, and in the back of my mind I was thinking about all the con-artist out there who ask for money and they are really a bit well-off, but then I thought about how when a muslim tells us something we shouldn’t think the worst of them and accept them for their word. Soon, I walked back and spoke to the mother and asked her if she has talked to anyone in community, or for those who sponsered her for aid, etc. She mentioned that her husband couldn’t work and he had a spine issue, and they had arrived her on visa and that they were actually from a country in Europe called B something. She said they applied for green card, and social security, but didn’t have any income and that they were not eligible for aid from the gov. From what she told me, I could understand why they couldn’t get aid. Anyway, i took their phone number and thought later to call the masjids or at least someone that could help them out. It made me sad either way of how we sometimes take things for granted as citizenship, food, right to work..etc. Subhana’Allah, just yesterday I wanted to jet this country. Indeed, which the law allows me, and I thought imagine those that can’t jet the country or can’t come in, and if they do come in illegal they face such restrictions. QadrAllah Ma shaFa3al.

Alhamdulilah, sleepy…need to sleep. Tired.  A new day tomorrow, new beginnings. Must go see sis s for her ashir. I miss abdi…random thought.

Till next time, may Allah keep us strong in our faith!

Leave a Reply

