Journey to patience (Day 8)

Posted: May 25, 2008 in Great Women in Islam, Journey to patience, Stories of the Prophets by Ibn Katheer

Bismillah,

As I drove home from aunti J’s a couple of minutes ago, I thought about the qantrah, family, and people leaving one another. Subhana’Allah, before leaving aunti J’s we were talking about the seerat (the sword like–hair like bridge) that we will all cross, as well as the qantrah ( the place where people will call each other out on things done to them), all in all this talk of qantrah made me think of the hereafter. When I dropped off aunti Sh at her house, she began to cry…subhana’Allah, her and her hubby will likely be moving back to their country in Aug. and she said that she was sad to have ended our meeting, as we had met everyday for the past three days. It was something I truly didn’t expect and I thought when driving home how we will all leave one another whether we’re friends for that moment in time, or even at that family…but subhana’Allah, I thought how none of this matters except for how we treat one another in the time we spend in one another’s company. This was followed by thoughts of everyone we all encounter in life…I thought how can I spend only a couple days with a person and be able to learn, pray, and share in khayr while its sooo difficult to achieve with other people. Where did we go wrong? I thought how if we all understood the rights on one another, to speak gently, be good to one another, and overall understood the rights due upon to one another we would all be successful in our dunya and our akhirah.

Alhamdulilah, it was an awesome day. May Allah bestow his mercy upon all of us and grant us khayr in our dunya and akhirah. We had a gathering at aunti J’s house today with other sisters, I played soccer with H for quiet sometime, for a little kid, he’s pretty good. Me Z bonded too, alhamdulilah.

After all the guests left I ended up reading quiet some time from my book on the Great Women of Islam, awesome indeed. Alhamdulilah. I’ve read from Khadija, Saudah bint Zam’ah, Aishah, Hafsa, Zainab, and recently Umm Salamah. Truly amazing stories, and soon I’ll type up notes (excerpts) on all their stories. Masha’Allah. I also continued my reading on Musa a.s. Amazing stuff indeed, as I learned another dua. Ibn Katheer’s book is so detailed with verses of the Qur’an that its taking me so long to finish reading the story because I actually like to read the verses and understand there meaning. Alhamduliah, I was reading this ayah today and I extracted the following statements. In the ayah below Allah mentions how when the magician’s firown brought ended up accepting Musa’s message, he began to threaten by telling them “I shall certainly cut off your hands and legs on opposite sides”. This comment made me laugh the first time I heard it and this time around too. Its weired..really..I had a picture of a person who had this done to him…but then subhana’Allah, I thought about the severity of firowns words and the act itself, its more to humiliate and degrade the individual. In addition, were the magicians reply when they asked “Do you take vengeance on us because we have believed in the signs of our Lord when they came to us?, followed by that and at end of the ayah they say to Allah “Our Lord! pour out upon us patience and cause us to die as Muslims.” The dua they made is amazing and the wording of it made me stop and actually examine and write it down to memorize and post on my wall.

Wama tanqimu minna illa an amanna biayati rabbina lamma jaatna rabbana afrigh AAalayna sabran watawaffana muslimeena

7:126 “But thou dost wreak thy vengeance on us simply because we believed in the Signs of our Lord when they reached us! Our Lord! pour out on us patience and constancy, and take our souls unto thee as Muslims (who bow to thy will)!

~~~Great Women of Islam (Who were given good news of paradise) By Muhmood Ahmad Ghadanfar, Revised by Sheikh Safiur-Rahman Al-Mubarakpur~~~~

*Khadijah bint Khawalid r.a

*Narrated Abu Hurairah r.a: Jibril came to the Prophet s.a.w and said “Oh Allah’s messenger! This is Khadija, coming to you with a dish having meat soup. When she reaches you, greet her on behalf of her Lord and on my behalf, and give her the glad tidings of having a palace made of Qasab in Paradise, wherein there will be neither any noise nor any toil (Al-Bukhari)

*The strength of character and noble qualities of Khadija r.a earned her the honor of being greeted by Allah through his Angel Jibril a.s.

* She was the first wife of the Prophet s.a.w. and he did not marry again during her lifetime. They lived in peace and harmony for more than 24 years.

*Aisha r.a narrates that whenever the Prophet s.a.w talked about Khadija r.a it was in terms of the highest praise. One day her innate feminine envy overtook her sense of decorum and she spoke in disparaging terms of her, wondering why the Prophet s.a.w missed her when he was blessed with a better, younger wife by Allah. This displeased him, but forbearing as he was, he just sighed and answered,

“I have not yet found a better wife then her. She had faith in me when everyone, even members of my own family and tribe did not believe me, and accepted that I was truly a Prophet and a Messenger of Allah. She converted to Islam, spent all her wealth and worldly goods to help me spread this faith, and this too at a time when the entire world seemed to have turned against me and persecuted me. And it is through her that Allah blessed me with children”

*The Prophet s.a.w had 6 children by Khadijah-4 daughters and 2 sons (who died). Daughters: Zainab, Ruqayyah, Umm Kulthom, and fatimah. Sons were Qasim, Abdullah (also know as tahir (the pure) or tayyab (the good), and a third son was born to him by Maria Qabtiyyah and he died as well in infancy–name: Ibrahim

*The Prophet s.a.w. was 25 years of age and Khadijah was 40 years old when they married. according to one tradition she was 28 years old.

* Aisha r.a narrated that whenever a goat was slaughtered the Prophet s.a.w would send some meat to Khadija’s friends.

*Aisha said she never experienced such a feeling of natural feminine jealousy for any other wife of the Prophet s.a.w as she did for Khadijah

Sunday, May 25th

1.) Caps(10) Alhamdulilah

2.) Ttest (10)

3.) Quran 3 Surahs ( 10)

4.) Reading from the Prophets stories ibn Katheer/Great Women of Islam (10)

5.)Lectures, at least one a day( 0)

6.) Istigfar: asking for it 70 times a day or more (10)

50/60

Leave a Reply

