My journey on achieving patience

Posted: May 18, 2008 in Journey to patience

Bismillah,

In Muhammed Ashareef’s lecture on the heart wheel, he states that anything you measure you can increase and improve on. So thats what I am going to do. I am going to measure my level of patience for the next two months & 1/2, and if i am successful or try really hard and get close to achieving this I am going to celebrate and reward myself (thats also part of the lecture).

From a scale of 1-10 (1-being crappy, and 10 being awesome) I am going to grade myself on the following things everyday. In order to achieve these things and score high on these I am going to leave behind several distractions which I have already deemed as destructive to my plan. My aunti J, said that Allah is testing you and giving you things so you could be patient and strong enough to handle things later on in life. Subhana’Allah. I stopped talking to people about things that were difficult for me to be patient with, and instead I am forever reminded of what Musa a.s mother went through after she sent him into the river and felt such a void–a despair so strong that she wanted to announce publicly what she had done so that she could know the whereabouts of her son, but she knew that they would kill him if she said anything so she suppressed her emotions and asked Allah aza wa jala to aid her, and the most High indeed helped her. Tawakul

I was also thinking how in Ramadan in general we are the most patient ever. Subhana’Allah, its like we refrain from eating, committing haram, and doing khayr because were only seeking the pleasure of Allah and we know that if we don’t fulfill this obligation we’ll have His wrath upon us. So today, when I thought about my level of patience and in trying to do khayr this thought came to mind. I learned a lot in Ramadan and became the best person I knew how to be throughout the years, and so from now on I will sort of think of everyday as a day in Ramadan. A day where I am more cautious and place the fear of Allah in my mind and hope for His mercy.

Intention: To not only achieve patience but to gain Jannah in the process, as Allah says He is with those who are patient. So success can only be mine if I make it so, bithniAllah.

Today: Sunday May 18

1.) Caps(10) Alhamdulilah

2.) Ttest (-2) Try harder

3.) Quran 3 Surahs (10)

4.) Reading from the Prophets stories ibn Katheer (10)

5.)Lectures, at least one a day(10)

6.) Istigfar: asking for it 70 times a day or more (10)

48/60

IN sha’Allah, I will also take into consideration the following to aid me in my patience.

*Fasting Mondays and Thursday (will be calculated as need be)

*Kushoo in salaah (In lecture he mentioned how he considered his salaah to be a 10 that day was if he did the follow)

_Made 3/5 prayers in masjid

_Read a new portion of Quran in a day

Alhamdulilah, May Allah keep me steadfast in my journey.

Leave a Reply

