Lecture for today, importance of dua in general.

Posted: May 18, 2008 in Lectures, Stories of the Prophets by Ibn Katheer

Bismillah,

Alhamdulilah, it was a wonderful day today! My lecture for today was about Istiqarah.  Alhamdulilah. I was present when the lecture below on istiqarah was being taped, March 06 and since then I’ve listened to it numerous times. Hey…i have notes from a couple years back! Wait!…xanga blog gone bye bye. darn. Here something better- the actual lecture:

http://ilmcast.com/date/2007/03

I learned some duas within the last couple weeks and I’ve come to find the importance of such things. Its a way to increase one in Iman and to build reliance on Allah. Subhana’Allah, in sujuud and out of it, coupled with making Istiqfar it lightens the heart. I’ve finally finished the perish nation series by Muhammed Alshareef which can be found at

http://ilmcast.com/perished-nations-episode-1-aad-14.htm

….and I must say I am sooo glad that I listened to it. I was sad when the series ended and Alhamdulilah because of it I am forever in love with the stories of the Prophets by Ibn Katheer. I borrowed it from aunti J to teach the kids from, and I became so immersed in it! This weekend I listened to the story on firown lecture and read the story of Musa a.s. in ibn katheer and I absolutely loved. I posted the following dua (see below) on my bedroom wall along with the hadeeth reading by the munchkins. Subhana’Allah, prior to this description Musa a.s returns from madyan where he ran to when he had accidentally killed the Egyptian man, and upon returning Allah had chosen him to spread the message of Tawheed and to forbid firown from committing tyranny against the people of Isreal, and so Musa a.s. was very scared that the people would condemn and hurt him and that he would get tongue tied and wouldn’t know what to say. Musa a.s. asked Allah to bring his brother Harun because he was more outspoken then him. Subhana’Allah, Allah in return told him to not fear and told him what to say and granted his brother Harun a.s to be a prophet as well and to accompany his brother. Allah subhana wa tala taught Musa a.s this dua and it is a dua that we can also say when we have difficult speaking or in need help.

He said: ‘Oh my Lord! Expand my chest, and make my task easier for me, and remove the impediment from my speech, so they may understand what I say” (Ta ha: 20: 24-28 –blurry arabic to the right, I worked really hard in searching for the verses but have trouble moving the writing on to here.

Qala rabbi ishrah lee sadree



Wayassir lee amree

Waohlul AAuqdatan min lisanee

Yafqahoo qawlee

The other day I also learned what to say when I eat something sweet. “Allahuma Inni Assalauka Halawatal Iman” “OH Allah I ask you for the sweetness of Iman” Alhamdulilah!

May Allah lighten my heart, protect me from misery and sadness, and bless me with khayr in this life and the hearafter. Writing is therapeutic alhamdulilah!!!

Leave a Reply

